New Stickers to be Affixed to County Gas Pumps

A new sticker has been affixed to most gas pumps in the county.  These stickers itemize the taxes included in the price of a gallon of fuel in order to inform the consumer, according to Holmes County Auditor,  Jackie McKee.

The stickers are required by the last year’s state transportation budget, which also raised the state tax on gasoline by 10.5 cents per gallon on July 1, 2019.  The diesel fuel tax increased by 19 cents per gallon.  Proceeds from the fuel tax are used to maintain and upgrade Ohio’s roads and bridges.

“These stickers are another informational tool that will benefit consumers.  It increases the transparency of fuel prices for Holmes County residents,” Auditor McKee said.

The approximately four-inch by four-inch stickers will show a breakdown of state, local and federal taxes that are being levied on gasoline and diesel fuels, along with the total tax amount.  Per the new law, the stickers were created and paid for by the Ohio Department of Agriculture. 

The stickers will be affixed by the County Auditor’s office during routine inspections conducted by the Auditor’s office Weights and Measures Staff.  Gas tax stickers must be placed on the gas pumps in each county and city jurisdiction by September 2020.  They do not need to be used if the tax information is displayed in another way, such as on a video screen or in a prominent place at the gas station.  Stickers will be updated with any future changes to the gas tax.

For additional information please contact the Holmes County Auditor at 330-674-1896. 

Enjoy this article? Pass it on!

About the Author

Jackie McKee, Holmes County Auditor

Serving Since  March 1999 - Jackie graduated from Akron University/Wayne College and has 36 years of accounting experience with 30 years being governmental accounting. She is a working "hands on" auditor; personally involved with all aspects of the office.

Jackie is involved with the County Auditors Association of Ohio and is currently serving on a legislative committee. She is past President of the Northeast Auditors Association.